Just a happy update

Good early morning to you, you.

My night took a rather pleasant and unexpected turn. After leaving work, I ran into a very friendly, talented and funny comedian named Jeremy Talamantes. I hope I spelled his name correctly.

When I first started doing stand-up last May, he really struck me as the type of guy who understood what he was doing. He was clearly a “higher level comic” than the samplings of humans I had come across in my short time on the scene. I ended up going with him and another comic named Elvis to La Rocca’s comedy night, hosted by another very kind and welcoming individual named Bryce. I signed up, but never ended up going on because of time.

But despite the fact that I didn’t get on stage, I had a really good time just hanging out and seeing all the familiar faces of the very friendly and welcoming comedy scene in San Francisco. I used to have such horrible social anxiety, and I would have to drink to be able to say one awkward half-joke, but tonight I didn’t have anything to drink yet still had a good time and got to talk to a lot of cool people.

I surprised myself today with that lack of fear, and I am proud of you for going ahead and letting yourself do that.

Good job, buddy

Love,
Me

Eric Wong is a writer and comedian. He is really tired but can’t sleep

Leave a Reply

