What A Strange Day

Hey Buddy,

 

So the podcast pilot experiment went well. I have yet to edit anything, but a sample of the beginning of our conversation can be found here:

 

 

Interesting cool thing happened today: I have an agent. Really? Yep. I got signed to MDA Talent, or something like that (I should probably know their company name if I’m going to be plugging them) after doing some stand-up in an Italian restaurant on Fisherman’s Wharf. It was my second bringer show, and the second one I did not get paid for, but at the end of the day, the manager of the talent agency approached me and signed me.

I didn’t think anything would come of it. I haven’t had the desire to act in a long time, and modeling isn’t really my thing. But I thought it would be a cool credit.

So this morning, I get an email from them saying I have an audition tomorrow. It pays $750 dollars, which for a guy working two minimum-ish wage jobs is a pretty big deal. And it’s for one day of work?! Tomorrow will be interesting. I haven’t auditioned for anything since my first year of college, and I haven’t seriously wanted to audition for anything since high school. But I guess what the booking really means is, I am fucking good looking. Or Asian. Maybe they just wanted an Asian guy.

 

(reads script prompt)

 

Yeah they wanted an Asian guy. BUT I STILL THINK YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL.

Now all I have to do is come up with a head-shot on printer paper and make up the best performer’s resume I can.

 

Anyway, you’re working hard. You’re putting some real effort into your life, and I for one appreciate it greatly. Now go get some more work done you beautiful bastard.

 

Love,

Me.

Eric Wong is a writer and comedian (and now apparently an actor) from San Francisco. He has a long torso, and his bedroom eyes look really angry because of his eyebrows.

Leave a Reply

